word-poem://Spoon-fed

Spoon-fed

I dreamt I was with a friend who fed me coleslaw from
his own plate, with his own fork, and said he didn’t much care
for the poems of a fellow poet; I was uncertain if I liked
one particular poem in two-line stanzas and iambic
pentameter, but he gave the thumbs down. I was relieved,
I needed to know what to think. Later he was in the yard
painting over the intricate pattern on a lime-green retro
metal lawn chair, a plain peach color, and I was wearing
long pants in mid-summer, because I had missed the 50th
celebration due to a broken ankle, which was a lie, and now
he might see, yet he seemed oblivious, and I was looking
for somewhere in the grand old hotel to spend the night,
the room I had been assigned had a large grave dug
out of the middle of the bed, leaving little room to sleep.
And he said nothing and didn’t invite me to share his bed.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

