word-poem://unpeel the orange

Unpeel the orange, I say 

He comes back with, do you mean
replace the peel? I had actually said
unpeel the core, even harder to uphold.
Yet, unpeel tasted firm as a pear in
my mouth, echoed bell-true to ear.

It seems naive to neglect the cunning
of language. And so, I piddle with words:
bumping, galumphing, pealing along.

At night, I dream in sentences, such as,
I’ll have a tall double latte, for here.
As if without practice I might order tea
or say to go, might forget to sip hot
liquids slowly.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

